Komati Coal Power Plant, is a coal-fired power plant operated by Eskom. Its 300 metre tall chimney was built in 1979, and is one of the tallest structures in the country. Komati is the only power station with a common steam range, meaning that its nine boilers jointly feed the nine generators.

The first unit was commissioned in 1961 and the last in 1966. In 1988, three units at Komati were mothballed, one was kept in reserve and the other five were only operated during peak hours. In 1990 the complete station was mothballed until 2008 when the unit 9 was the first to be recommisioned under Eskom's return to service project. The full station is expected to be online by 2011.

The Komati Coal Power Plant consists of five 100MW units and four 125MW units with a total installed capacity of 1,000MW. Turbine Maximum Continuous Rating is 30.00%.
Komati Coal Power Station
Country South Africa
Locale Mpumalanga
Commission date 1961
Owner(s) Eskom

Power station information
Generation units 9

Power generation information
Installed capacity 1,000 Megawatt